For GDPR compliance, end-users may need to give consent for Drift to save their information. In this article, we'll cover:
- How to Proactively Ask Users for Consent
- Who Will We Show a Consent Form To?
- What Countries Does Drift consider to be in the EU?
- How to Create a Consent Form
- Managing Data
How to proactively ask users for consent:
1. Create a consent form, as outlined below in the article.
2. This consent form will appear users who's "has_consent" attribute is empty.
3. Email users with a link to any driftlink playbook. The form will automatically show and ask for consent from the user.
Who will we show a consent form to, and what form will display?
Essentially, we'll use a visitor's IP address to determine their location. And if that matches a country you've set to show a consent form to, we'll display it.
We'll also look at the visitor's browser language to decide which of your consent forms to show. If you don't have a consent form to match, we'll display your default consent form. Read on further for more details below.
List of countries Drift Considers as in the EU
- Great Britain
Here's how to create a consent form
Start by going to Settings > Data Privacy.
If we click Create Form, this is where we'll land:
You can also customize messaging after the user opts out.
What the end-user sees
If the user interacts with Drift for the first time through the widget, this is what they'll see:
If the user interacts with Drift for the first time via email, this is what they'll see:
How do I know which customers have given consent?
Whenever a customer consents via Chat or Email, we’ll set the "has_consent" attribute to true on their contact record. Drift uses this attribute to determine whether returning customers should be prompted for consent. If you change the Drift Attribute to which consent is associated, customers who previously consented may be prompted for consent again unless this attribute is true on their contact record.
You may track which customers have consented by creating a Dynamic Segment based on the Drift Attribute associated with consent.
Collecting consent outside of Drift?
Admins in Drift have the ability to retrieve or delete end-user data as well as the ability to get notifications if an end user requests that their data be deleted. You can do this in Settings > Data Privacy. You can also do this using our API.